Browse Items (52 total)

On Wednesday June 24, 2009, the National Endowment for Democracy honored the heroic efforts of Cuban activists working to advance democratic values and fundamental rights within Cuba with the presentation of its annual Democracy Award. The winners…

Kenneth Wollack, President of the National Democratic Institute (NDI), reads a statement from Oswaldo Paya at the 2009 Democracy Awards.

Remarks by Rep. Debbie Wasserman Shultz (D-FL)

Remarks by Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)

Remarks by Rep. Howard Berman (D-CA), Chairman of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs

Introductory remarks by Richard Gephardt, Chairman of the National Endowment for Democracy Board of Directors

On July 13, the National Endowment for Democracy presented its annual Democracy Award to three democratic activists from Afghanistan. Ms. Sakena Yacoobi, Founder, Afghan Institute of Learning (AIL), Mr. Mohammad Nasib, Director, Welfare Association…

Members of the International Parliamentarians’ Coalition for North Korean Human Rights and Refugees and Members of the U.S. Congress discuss policy recommendations for managing the refugee crisis.

Output Formats

atom, dcmes-xml, json, omeka-xml, rss2