Democracy Award


Democracy Award


Collection Items

Gulalai Ismail was awarded the 2013 Democracy Medal on July 17, 2013.

Gulalai Ismail of Pakistan
Gulalai Ismail speaks at the 2013 Democracy Award ceremony.

McCain poses with activists
Democracy activist Ko Ko Gyi, Senator John McCain (R-AZ), and 2012 Democracy Award winner Min Ko Naing pose for a picture.

Rep. Chris Smith (R-NJ) presents the 2008 Democracy Award for Human Rights and Rule of Law to Teng Biao and Chen Guangcheng.

Rep. Adam Schiff (D-CA) presents the 2008 Democracy Award for Freedom of Expression to Zhang Jianhong.

Remarks by Paula J. Dobriansky, Under Secretary for Democracy and Global Affairs

Xiao Qiang accepting on behalf of Zhang Jianhong
View all 40 items